No Mixtapes in 2013: A Year in Review

Download Audio: Closed Format: MP3 MP3 MP3 MP3 MP3

There was a ton of music released this year. This is my five-part mixtape featuring recordings from 2013 releases…episodes 43, 44, 45, 46 and 47 of No Mixtapes in Lansing. The artists and albums the tracks come from are listed below (unless otherwise noted). With this quintuplet, NMIL is going into semi-seclusion. We’ll be back later.


Julianna Barwick – Nepenthe
Arcade Fire – Reflektor
Prince & 3rdEyeGirl – FixUrLifeUp [single]
Atoms for Peace – Amok
Arctic Monkeys – AM
Perera Elsewhere – Everlast
Travis – Where You Stand
Yancey Boys – Sunset Blvd.
Janelle Monáe – The Electric Lady
Mayer Hawthorne – Where Does This Door Go?
Queens of the Stone Age – …Like Clockwork
Kelly Willis & Bruce Robison – Cheater’s Game
Ta-ku & Raashan Ahmad – Low Fidelity, High Quality
Marnie Stern – The Chronicles of Marnia
My Bloody Valentine – m b v
Elvis Costello & The Roots – Wise Up Ghost

Ctrl-Click [mac] or Right-Click [pc] to download PART ONE to your computer.


Lena Hughes – Queen Of The Flat Top Guitar
Vampire Weekend – Modern Vampires of the City
Deerhunter – Monomania
Primal Scream – More Light
Hieroglyphics – The Kitchen
Hugh Laurie – Didn’t It Rain
Coultrain – Jungle Mumbo Jumbo
They Might Be Giants – Nanobots
Paul McCartney – New
Sam Phillips – Push Any Button
David Bowie – The Next Day
Lisa Germano – No Elephants
Baths – Obsidian
Pat Metheny – The Orchestrion Project
Dutch Uncles – Out of Touch in the Wild
7 Days of Funk – Days of Funk
Cécile McLorin Salvant – Womanchild

Ctrl-Click [mac] or Right-Click [pc] to download PART TWO to your computer.


The Civil Wars & T Bone Burnett – A Place at the Table Soundtrack
Robert Pollard – Honey Locust Honky Tonk
The Lone Bellow – The Lone Bellow
Kid606 – Happiness
No Joy – Wait to Pleasure
Kwes – Ilp
Mazzy Star – Seasons of Your Day
Wooden Shjips – Back to Land
Flat Earth Society – 13
The Flaming Lips – The Terror
Ceramic Dog – Your Turn
Black Milk – No Poison No Paradise
Billie Joe Armstrong & Norah Jones – Foreverly
Sigur Rós – Kveikur
Ghostface Killah & Adrian Younge – Twelve Reasons to Die
Thundercat – Apocalypse

Ctrl-Click [mac] or Right-Click [pc] to download PART THREE to your computer.


Dosh – Milk Money
Capsule – Caps Lock
Valerie June – Pushin’ Against a Stone
Lana Del Rey/Cédric Gervais – Summertime Sadness [remix single]
Savages – Silence Yourself
Ben Harper with Charlie Musselwhite – Get Up!
Daft Punk – Random Access Memories
V V Brown – Samson & Delilah
Suhnraw – Beat Addict
The Foreign Exchange – Love in Flying Colors
Talib Kweli – Prisoner Of Conscious
North Mississippi Allstars – World Boogie is Coming
M.I.A. – Matangi
James Blake – Overgrown
Steve Coleman and Five Elements – Functional Arrhythmias
Mountains – Centralia
Ron Sexsmith – Forever Endeavour

Ctrl-Click [mac] or Right-Click [pc] to download PART FOUR to your computer.


Kishi Bashi – 7″ Singles
Juana Molina – Wed 21
Johnny Marr – The Messenger
Snoop Lion – Reincarnated
Laura Mvula – Sing to the Moon
Kenny Roby – Memories & Birds
Omar – The Man
Bibio – Silver Wilkinson
José James – No Beginning No End
Jonathan Wilson – Fanfare
The Lions – This Generation
Jim James – Regions of Light and Sound of God
Elizabeth Mitchell and Friends – The Sounding Joy: Christmas Songs In and Out of the Ruth Crawford Seeger Songbook
Dawn McCarthy & Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy – What the Brothers Sang

Allen Toussaint – Songbook

Ctrl-Click [mac] or Right-Click [pc] to download PART FIVE to your computer.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.